“Do things ever give you a thrill?”

I don’t remember how I felt when I read Anne of Green Gables. for the first time. I liked it, of course, but at 10 years old, I wasn’t yet plagued with the self awareness that I constantly live with now. And also, at that age, I would read just about anything for the sake of reading. I wish I could say that I remember being thrilled by Anne’s character. But at least I can say with all honesty that Anne Shirley is an irremovable part of my life.

The idea for this “project” came to mind as I was reading Laura Miller’s The Magician’s Book. Now a literary critic, she writes about her journey through The Chronicles of Narnia which she abandoned in her teens when she felt betrayed by its Christian themes. Later, as an adult, she comes to love Narnia again despite her disagreements with some themes and portrayals in the series.

Reading the book immediately posed the question, “If I were to write about a book that I absolutely loved as a child and as an adult, what would it be?” Anne of Green Gables was the only option. The series has a pervasive influence in all aspects of my life that, without it, I don’t think I would be who I am today.

With this blog project, I want to accomplish three primary things:

1. To give the best tribute within my writing powers to the eight books and the author (Lucy Maud Montgomery) who has been with me through childhood, puberty, and now adulthood.

2. To find kindred spirits out there who share my love for Anne Shirley and L.M. Montgomery.

3. To make myself regularly write about something that I truly love.

I hope that you’d keep me company. Who knows you might catch Anne’s spirit of imagination and fancy?

2 responses to ““Do things ever give you a thrill?”

  1. Count me in. I have been reading her books for many years now – have all the movies, including series: Road to Avonlea, all the books, autobiography, and most of all, I had the opportunity to visit her haunts in Prince Edward Islands. I am glad that you are a kindred spirit.

    • Welcome to the blog. Kindred spirits are always welcome here. I’m so jealous you got to go to PEI. Maybe you can help us make an itinerary for future reference =D

Leave a Reply

