Dear Maud

Dear Maud,

I read that your friends and family called you “Maud.” Though I was born more than a century after you were, I consider you a friend and I daresay that you would have considered your readers as your kindred spirits.

I have just seen “Julie and Julia” for the 3rd time. You might wonder how this bit of information is relevant to you. Well, Julie Powell, inspired by Julia Child and her book, Mastering the Art of French Cooking, tackled 524 recipes in 365 days — blogging all the way to completion. While I may not know this for sure, I’d like to think that her project was fueled by love.

Dear Maud, I don’t care for reader count nor a higher page rank. I started this blog because I loved Anne Shirley and the world of Avonlea you’ve created. Anne of Green Gables was the first book that taught me to nurture the spirit of storytelling, imagination, and fancy. I just want to pay tribute to that and hopefully, share the joy.

Thanks to you and your books, I discovered that there could be a place in the world for a kid with a short temper, a loud mouth and a love for daydreaming. Thanks to you, becoming a writer became a very viable option for what to do with the rest of my life. And most of all, you have articulated for me feelings and thoughts I had about friendship, belonging-ness, and melancholy that I didn’t know how to express when I was a kid.

In short, all I want to say is that I am really grateful that you lived and that you wrote the Anne of Green Gables series. I am just one of the many girls whose hearts you’ve touched with your writing. I hope, with all my heart, you are at peace.

From a member of the race that knows Joseph,                                                                 Ilia

6 responses to “Dear Maud

  1. I don’t get the race of Joseph reference (understandably enough since I only read some of the Anne books and only once). 🙂 Will probably Google it later.

  2. The phrase was first used in Anne’s House of Dreams. It just basically means kindred spirits. =D And thanks to you, I remembered that there’s a word missing from the phrase. Gah! I am so ashamed.

  3. Quite obvious that we both use Google, teehee. Maybe I should try Bing too. I loved it when it came to working with maps.

Leave a Reply

